+356 2134 2704 info@aea.academy


The University of Bucharest is a leading academic centre and a significant point of reference in society, and it adheres to the principles of academic integrity and critical thinking. The University is one the leading higher education institutions in Romania and South-East Europe by actively contributing through research and teaching to the development and use of knowledge. The University’s main objective is to offer high-quality academic programmes and research facilities, and becoming a forefront of research and teaching.

The University of Bucharest offers numerous study programs, from Bachelor degrees to PhD programmes, as well as lifelong learning programmes and Erasmus programmes. All the University’s programmes are accredited or authorized. Enhancing international cooperation, the University has defined partnerships and strategic collaborations with more than 100 prestigious universities from 40 different countries.

The University of Bucharest offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree courses in social sciences and humanities, and natural sciences. The University consists of nineteen Faculties, each specialised in an academic field. The University’s Faculties are the following: Mathematics and Informatics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Geography, Geology and Geophysics, Business and Administration, Law, History, Sociology, Psychology and Education Sciences, Political Sciences, Philosophy, Journalism, Letters, Foreign Languages and Literature, Orthodox, Roman-Catholic, and Baptist Theology. This structure gives the students and academic staff a strong sense of community. The Faculties offer high-standard academic programmes and in return they demand excellence from their students. The University’s graduates and alumni effectively contribute to public agenda setting and decision-making processes, and contribute to international research in all academic fields.

The University of Bucharest adheres to the European Union’s education principles and its entire structure of the curricula has been made compatible with the Bologna framework throughout its Faculties. The University currently offers thirty-eight undergraduate fields of study with more than 100 majors. The forms of study offered by the University are: full-time, part-time and distance learning. The University offers 180 postgraduate programmes.

Most Faculties offer PhD programmes and the PhD students’ scholarships are currently financed by European structural funds within three-year projects. The University of Bucharest will develop its own set of policies regarding PhD supervision and formation from other universities.

Click here to Access University of Bucharest Platform.